Big East Adds Butler, Xavier and Creighton: College Basketball News at YouWager

YouWager has learned that three college teams will join the so-called Catholic 7 basketball schools that left to start a new conference and are keeping the Big East name.

The Butler Bulldogs and the Xavier Musketeers are leaving the Atlantic 10. The Creighton Bluejays leave the Missouri Valley Conference.

They join the Georgetown Hoyas, the Villanova Wildcats, the Marquette Golden Eagles, the St. John’s Red Storm, the Providence Friars, the Seton Hall Pirates and the DePaul Blue Demons.

According to Atlantic 10 commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade the conference’s partnerships with the Bulldogs and the Musketeers have “been mutually beneficial and successful.”

McGlade also added that the A-10 had “anticipated this move and are prepared to proactively move forward.”