College Football Playoff’s New Name and Site: NCAA News ay YouWager

Oddsmakers have learned that the name of the four-team playoff has been decided and it will be College Football Playoff: which will begin after the 2014 regular season.

According to sources, Dallas Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, will be awarded the college football playoff’s first national championship, to take place Jan. 12, 2015.

In addition, the Fiesta, Cotton and Chick-fil-A bowls will join the Rose, Sugar and Orange bowls in the six-bowl semifinal rotation for the new playoff.

Earlier this week BCS commissioners held discussions about the site of the title game in the first season of the new four-team event. Tampa, Fla., and Arlington were the only two cities that bid for this college football game.

Arlington has been a prohibitive favorite for a while now, however an outstanding package from Tampa made it a difficult decision, according to several sources.

Today fans will get to learn about the official vote and announcement of the first title game and semifinal sites from the Langham Hotel in Pasadena.

Sources have also added the semifinal rotation has been determined as follows: the Rose (Pasadena) and Sugar (New Orleans) bowls will host the semifinals in 2015, the Orange (Miami) and Cotton (Arlington) bowls will host in 2016, and the Fiesta (Glendale, Ariz.) and Chick-fil-A (Atlanta) bowls will host in 2017. The rotation will be kept through January 2026.

During the 12-year college football playoff contract, the semifinals will be as follows:

  • Rose and Sugar bowls: Jan. 1, 2015; Jan. 1, 2018; Jan. 1, 2021; and Jan. 1, 2024.
  • Orange and Cotton bowls: Jan. 1, 2016; Jan. 1, 2019; Jan. 1, 2022; and Jan. 1, 2025.
  • Fiesta and Chick-fil-A bowls: Jan. 2, 2017; Jan. 1, 2020; Jan. 2, 2023; and Jan. 1, 2026.

The only other bowl to bid for a semifinal site was the Holiday Bowl.

Online sports betting experts learned that this summer, the College Football Playoff will start accepting bids for the Jan. 11, 2016, and Jan. 9, 2017, championship games.