Southeastern Conference and ESPN announce new TV network

After ruling for multiple college football wagering seasons, the Southeastern Conference is planning to take over the airwaves, too. YouWager’s sportsbook bettors that follow the nation’s top Southern teams will soon be very familiar with the new television network. It will all begin in August of 2014.

Echoing this sentiment, John Skipper, president of ESPN, in an official statement reported by a YouWager news source, acknowledged the conference’s dominance in modern sports. He said, “The SEC is unmatched in its success on the field and its popularity with fans nationwide. The new network’s top-quality SEC matchups across a range of sports will serve all sports enthusiasts including the most passionate, die-hard SEC fans. Also, it will serve the needs of our multichannel distributors and advertisers by providing extremely attractive programming options across all platforms.”

As if to demonstrate ESPN’s commitment to the new channel, it has signed an agreement with the SEC that will run all the way until 2034. This will be the longest-running sports rights contract in the U.S.

According to YouWager’s source, the network will broadcast 45 football games per season, with 3 regular college football games on Saturdays. The SEC Network will air matchups morning, afternoon and night. It also promises to evening slots. The network will air more than 100 men’s basketball games.

The network’s content will be distributed by ESPN, and be will be produced at ESPN’s Southern offices in Charlotte, North Carolina. The SEC also made a deal with AT&T. The conference has already begun a marketing campaign to encourage the sports betting public to urge their local cable and satellite companies to carry the network. The new “digital platform” will broadcast programming 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Along with the 45 SEC football games and 100 men’s basketball games, YouWager bettors can also expect to see 60 women’s basketball games, 75 baseball games, and other sports events, plus studio shows.

According to YouWager’s source, in the official statement, Mike Slive, Commissioner of the SEC, also made bold promises. He said, “The SEC Network will provide an unparalleled fan experience of top quality SEC content presented across the television network and its accompanying digital platforms. We will increase exposure of SEC athletics programs at all 14 member institutions, as we showcase the incredible student-athletes in our league. The agreement for a network streamlines and completes an overall media rights package that will continue the SEC’s leadership for the foreseeable future.”

As YouWager’s serious college football betting fans know, since 2006, SEC teams have 7 national football championships in a row. Additionally, from 2011 to 2012, SEC schools won a total of 8 national championships. These include Alabama in football, of course, plus Kentucky in men’s basketball, Alabama in gymnastics, Florida in men’s track and field, and women’s tennis, Alabama in women’s golf, and softball. Since 1990, the Southeastern Conference has claimed no less than 149 national team championships.