Jason Dufner Wins at Oak Hill: Golf News at YouWager

Armed with a two-shot lead at the turn, still feeling the pressure of what was his PGA Championship collapse back in 2011, Jason Dufner was going strong.

YouWager experts knew the 36 year-old golfer could do it.

Dufner waved to the gallery when he shot 63 in the second round to tie a major championship record. His low energy personality came through as he matched scores with Jim Furyk at every hole on the back nine of Oak Hill.

Dufner merely smiled only after he tapped in for a bogey on the 18th hole to win the PGA Championship. He then raised both arms and gave a slight pump of the fist, saving all that emotion for another time.

The 3x PGA Tour winner wasn’t sure he would get another chance after the PGA Championship two years ago in Atlanta, where he managed to blow a four-shot lead with four holes to play and lost in a playoff to Keegan Bradley.

However, Dufner wasn’t about to let this one get away. Online sports betting fans consider he won by playing a brand of golf that matches the bland expression on his face which isn’t really heart-stopping.

The Ohio native finished the front nine with six straight one-putt greens, and then delivered a steady diet of fairways and greens. Dufner putted for birdie on every hole on the back nine until the last hole. He then calmly rolled a 10-foot par putt toward the cup and tapped it in.

What really changed things around at Oak Hill were the final two holes — on the front nine.

The Pro Golfer made a short birdie on the eighth hole to take a one-shot lead, and Furyk made bogey on the ninth hole to fall two shots behind.

The 43 year-old Furyk, a 54-hole leader for the second time in as many years in a major, couldn’t make up any ground with a procession of pars along the back nine. The 16x PGA Tour winner finally made a 12-foot birdie putt on the 16th, but only after Dufner spun back a wedge to 18 inches for a sure birdie.

At the end Dufner became the sixth player to win a major with a round of 63, in addition to Tiger Woods, Greg Norman, Raymond Floyd, Nicklaus and Johnny Miller.


Post a Comment

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *