Florida State vs. Auburn: NCAA College Football Bowl Championship

8:30 PM ET, January 6, 2014

The Bowl Championship Series has survived 16 years and is coming to an end in the most impressive way before yielding to the much anticipated College Football Playoff.

On its final year, the BCS has delivered a title-game matchup that’s brought little debate about a pairing of teams that took very different roads to the Rose Bowl for tonight’s showdown.

Top-ranked and unbeaten Florida State Seminoles will look to complete their sweep through the 2013 season when they takes on No. 2 Auburn Tigers, who online sports betting fans consider it to be a team of destiny.

Even while the BCS system sometimes resulted in a month of heated arguments over whether the right teams were playing for the national championship, it often came through with the consensus correct game.

However, that wasn’t enough to preserve the BCS, which makes its exit in favor of the four-team playoff that goes into effect next college football season.

With the Auburn-Florida State game, the system that was put in place to end those championship debates is providing one last reminder that it was sometimes capable of accomplishing what it intended.

The Seminoles pounded their four ranked rivals by a 200-35 margin, and it’s now seeking its first BCS title since the 1999 season, when it beat Virginia Tech Hokies in the Sugar Bowl.

The Tigers surge to Pasadena has also given the SEC an unlikely chance to extend their run of seven consecutive BCS titles. The conference will undoubtedly miss the system, having won all seven BCS championship games and two more BCS titles with victories by Tennessee after the 1998 season (Fiesta Bowl) and LSU after 2003 (Sugar).

Auburn faced six ranked teams in 2013, with its only loss coming at then-No. 6 LSU Tigers by a 35-21 score Sept. 21.

Auburn and Florida State will be meeting for the second time in a bowl game, with the Seminoles winning 13-7 in the Sugar Bowl after the 1988 season.

The last matchup was a 20-17 Tigers home win in 1990.


Post a Comment

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *