Okay tennis fans and racquet betting enthusiasts, with the 2018 Rogers Cup getting underway on Saturday, August 4, now is a perfect time for some expert insight that will help you increase your chances of cashing in early and often on this huge annual, pre-U.S. Open Masters 1000 tournament. With that thought in mind, let’s get to my preview of both, the ATP and WTA portions of the 2018 Rogers Cup.

Rogers Cup Event Information

🏆: Rogers Cup Tennis
👨🎾⏰: Aug. 4-12, 2018 (ATP)
👨🎾🏟️‍: Aviva Centre at York University, Toronto (WTA)
👩🎾⏰: Aug. 3-12, 2018 (ATP)
👩🎾🏟️‍: IGA Stadium, Montreal (WTA)

Defending champions:
🎾👨: Alexander Zverev (men’s singles)
🎾👩: Elina Svitolina (women’s singles)
🎾👨👨: Pierre-Hugues Herbert-Nicolas Mahut (men’s doubles)
🎾:👩👩Ekaterina Makarova-Elena Vesnina (doubles)

Rogers Cup Event Information HistoryThe Rogers Cup is the third-oldest tournament in the world, having made its debut way back in 1881 at the Toronto Lawn Tennis. It features both a men’s and a women’s event held simultaneously in two different cities – one in Montreal and one in Toronto – with host sites alternating every year. This year, the men will play in Toronto, while the women will compete in Montreal.

Past Rogers Cup champions include Andre Agassi, Bjorn Borg, Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, Rod Laver, John McEnroe and Rafael Nadal among the men, and Margaret Court, Steffi Graf, Justine Henin, Martina Hingis, Martina Navratilova, Simona Halep and Serena Williams among the women. Ivan Lendl holds the record for most Rogers Cup men’s singles titles at six, while Chris Evert and Monica Seles hold the most Open era women’s titles with four apiece.

Rogers Cup Tennis Ivanb

Rogers Cup Tennis 2017Last year, young, up-and-coming stars Alexander Zverev and Elina Svitolina captured the men’s and women’s singles titles, respectively.

Teenage wildcard Denis Shapovalov also made his name known with a thrilling run to the semifinals. The then-18-year-old’s third-round upset of Rafael Nadal was talked about for the remainder of the year and thoroughly put Shapalov on everyone’s map. The, then 180-year-old also dispatched grand slam winner Juan Martin del Potro before ultimately falling to Zverev. The German champion defeated Roger Federer in the final to claim the second of his three career Masters titles. Svitolina defeated four WTA Top 10 opponents on her way to her third Premier 5 title of the year. The Ukrainian star dispatched Venus Williams, Garbiñe Muguruza, Simona Halep and Caroline Wozniacki en route to the title.

Rogers Cup Tennis Winners

In the doubles finals, men’s champions Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut won a third-set super-tiebreak over Rohan Bopanna and Ivan Dodig, while the top-seeded duo of Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina defeated Anna-Lena Groenefeld and Kveta Peschke, 6-0, 6-4. The Russian women did not drop a set in four matches to repeat as Rogers Cup champions.

Rogers Cup Tennis 2018On Monday, Tennis Canada announced that ATP and WTA World No.1s, Rafael Nadal and Simona Halep will be the top seeds in their respective events. The seedings will follow the official ATP World Tour and WTA rankings released on Monday, July 30, with the Top 16-ranked players entered in each tournament being seeded. The Top 8 seeds will receive a first-round bye. Nadal, the winner of v2005, 2008 and 2013 Rogers Cup events, will be looking for his fourth title. Reigning champ Alexander Zverev is seeded second while reigning Wimbledon champion Novak Djokovic is seeded ninth. Missing from this year’s event is the incomparable Roger Federer who pulled out of the event almost two weeks ago.

“I have happy memories from my time on the court and outside the court in Toronto and it’s always a highlight on my calendar,” said Djokovic.

In Montréal, World No. 1 Simona Halep will be looking to claim her second Canadian title, after bringing home the hardware in 2016. 2010 champion and reigning Australian Open winner Caroline Wozniacki is seeded second on the women’s side. All four reigning Grand Slam women’s singles champions – Sloane Stephens, Wozniacki, Halep and Garbiñe Muguruza – competed in last year’s event and are in the mix once again.

Here is a look at the official seeding for both fields.

Rogers Cup Tennis ATP

Rogers Cup Tennis WTA

Rogers Cup Betting Lines at YouWager.eu are available for all the matchups on the schedule.

Sign up and get your Bonus.